DiSCOVERY Project Of The Week - 'DNA'

Updated: Apr 27

At 5AM on Monday morning, which is, in many ways, the wrong time, we made the decision that we would be writing about the 'DNA' (Da New Age) mixtape, which is a collaborative collection of music brought to us by rap royalty, 'Nafe Smallz', and 'M Huncho'. At the time our decision was made, we were yet to hear 'DNA' in full, which understandably made us think twice, however, our thought process was flooded with emotion, and our heroes have not let us down.

Historically, when Nafe Smallz and M Huncho have worked together, they have done so in harmony, and as a result produced some invariably incredible music; nothing has changed on 'DNA'. This is proof money has not made them change their admirable, non-negotiable ethos of organic, self-achieved growth. In the cold world of 2020, many have given in to despair, but DNA has the ability to cement a smile upon individuals' faces, and to make the population want to party in 'Louis Vuitton' once again.

'DNA' itself consists of a mesmerising, yet measured 13 tracks, with just two including featured artists, 'Young Adz', and 'Yxng Bane'. With an arguable lack of contributing musicians, one would be forgiven for having the opinion that 'DNA' may be one dimensional; this could not be further from the truth. The vast level of diversity brought to listeners on 'DNA' is outstanding.

Part of what makes the Nafe Smallz x M Huncho relationship so unique and prosperous is the fact that they have seamlessly suited styles, but don't sound the same; their partnership is perhaps best described by analysing a 'Michelin Star' meal. Every single minute element of the 'DNA' musical dish complements each other. From verses, to hooks, to ad-libs, to the most important part of all - the energy; everything is on song. It is immense to experience.

Something that is easily overlooked when analysing 'DNA' is its collective length, but also, and maybe more importantly, the length of each individual song. As a fan, there is nothing more upsetting than when you are immersed in your own world, feeling like you're floating in the ozone whilst listening to a particular track, and it ends, leaving you plummeting back down to reality. 'DNA' does not disappoint in this department either.

10 of the 13 segments of 'DNA' provide in excess of 3 minutes euphoric listening. Although this may sound minor, many of todays projects consist of a plethora of sub 3 minute tracks. The effect is that when listening to 'DNA', you are programmed to believe that a song is about to cease, and when you least expect it, that one last, fire-filled, vicious verse comes in. This can make all the difference!

Whilst we strongly believe that each of the 13 tracks that make up 'DNA' are utterly scintillating, we would not be doing our job if we didn't provide you with our individual song ratings. With this in mind, please see below:

  1. Da New Age - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  2. Heroes - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  3. 5AM - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  4. Flooded - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  5. Changed - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  6. Cold World (Ft Young Adz) - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  7. Twice - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  8. Party - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  9. Louis Vuitton/Lost Hope - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (Louis Vuitton (3x ⭐️)(Lost Hope (5x ⭐️)

  10. PMW - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  11. Royalty - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  12. Money Make You Change - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  13. Wrong Time - ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Average rating - 4.53 / 5

Track Of The Project - 'Changed'

As is transparent to see, we enjoy each an every piece of the 'DNA' puzzle, however, we feel that 'Changed' is of a higher echelon than its project peers. Music is about feeling, and for us personally, when listening to 'Changed' we cannot help but frantically head-bop whilst a gigantic grin is etched upon our face. 'Changed' gives us life, and this is the biggest compliment a piece of music can receive.

Second only to 'feeling' is 'message' when it comes to the importance of musical impact; 'Changed' delivers with a 1st class stamp in this department also. To explain in the best depth exactly what we mean by 'message', we have detailed two of our favourite lines from 'Changed' below:

Nafe Smallz -

"When niggas changed on me, that shit bring tears to my eye

They made me go so hard, now they can't control my light"

M Huncho -

"This a marathon, it's never been a race

All my real bruddas, yeah, I gotta embrace

Runnin' to the money, can you keep up with the pace"

Take from the above quotes what you will, but if you dig deep enough, there is excessive levels of motivational meaning enclosed.

Overall, we cannot sing the praises of 'DNA' enough; we have at this point run out of superlatives to describe the masterpiece that it is. The only thing left to say is thank you for reading, oh, and 'DNA' for number 1!


137 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All